Alex' X1-9 Page
  
Dallara

The History of Dallara Automobili


Gian Paolo Dallara in front of his company

Gian Paolo Dallara graduated at the polytechnical institute of Milan with a degree in aeronautical engineering in 1959 and began his work with Ferrari. Then he changed to Maserati and 1963 he came to Lamborghini, where he designed the "Espada" and in 1966 the "Miura". At the end of 1960 he came to De Tomaso, where he worked on the design of Formula-2 and Formula-1 vehicles of the Formula-1-Team of Frank Williams.
In 1972 he created his own company "Dallara Automobili" in Varano Melegari near Parma, Italy. His first modern product was a 1000 ccm sport prototype, followed by further prototypes with 1300 and 1600 engines.
In 1978 Dallara designed his first Formula-3-car, which won the Italian championship in the same year. Dallara-Formula-3-cars have won world-wide championships, also in Italy, France, England, Germany, Switzerland, Japan, South America, Russia and in Austria.
From 1988 to 1992 "Dallara Automobili" designed Formula-1-cars for the Scuderia Italia, which were driven by Caffi, De Cesaris, Letho, Pirro and Martini.
Since 1997 Dallara designs chassis for different teams of the Indy Car championship. Dallara vehicles won the championships in 1988, 1999 and 2000 and the 500 miles of Indianapolis in 1998, 1999 and 2001. Dallara also built up a close relationship with vehicle manufacturers such as Lancia, Alfa Romeo, AUDI, Toyota and Honda, consulting on design, research and production of racing projects.
In April 1988, Honda gave Dallara the responsibility of aerodynamic development and the manufactering of the Honda Formula-1 chassis. In April 2000, Dallara signed an exclusive agreement with the French team ORECA for the supply of racing cars with Chrysler engines, that compete in the 24-Hours of Le Mans.

  Copyright 2004 - Alexander Kartschall

Alex' X1-9 Page
  
Dallara

Die Firma Dallara Automobili


Gian Paolo Dallara vor seiner Firma

Gian Paolo Dallara machte 1959 seinen Abschluss am Polytechnikum in Mailand im Bereich Luftfahrttechnik und begann daraufhin seine Arbeit bei Ferrari. Danach wechselte er zu Maserati und 1963 zu Lamborghini, wo er den "Espada" und 1966 den "Miura" konstruierte. Ende 1960 kam er zu De Tomaso, wo er an den Konstruktionen bei Formel-2- und Formel-1- Fahrzeugen vom F1-Team von Frank Williams beteiligt war.
1972 gründete er seine eigene Firma, die „Dallara Automobili“ in Varano Melegari in der Nähe des italienischen Parma. Sein erstes modernes Produkt war ein 1000 ccm Sport-Prototyp, gefolgt von weiteren 1300er- und 1600er-Prototypen.
1978 konstruierte Dallara seinen ersten Formel-3-Wagen, welcher im gleichen Jahr die italienische Meisterschaft gewann. Dallara-Formel-3-Wagen gewannen seitdem weltweite Meisterschaften, so auch in Italien, Frankreich, England, Deutschland, Schweiz, Japan, Südamerika, Russland und in Österreich.
Von 1988 bis 1992 stellte „Dallara Automobili“ Formel-1-Autos für die Scuderia Italia her, welche von Caffi, De Cesaris, Letho, Pirro und Martini gefahren wurden.
Seit 1997 konstruiert Dallara Chassis für verschiedene Teams der Indy Car Meisterschaft. Dallara-Fahrzeuge gewannen die Meisterschaften 1988, 1999 und 2000 sowie die 500 Meilen von Indianapolis von 1998, 1999 und 2001. Dallara baute außerdem enge Beziehungen mit Fahrzeugherstellern wie Lancia, Alfa Romeo, Audi, Toyota und Honda auf, die er in Sachen Konstruktion, Forschung und bei der Produktion von Motorsport-Projekten berät und unterstützt.
Im April 1988 gab Honda Dallara den Auftrag für die aerodynamische Entwicklung und den Bau des Honda Formel-1- Chassis. Im April 2000 unterzeichnete Dallara ein exclusives Abkommen mit dem französischen Team ORECA für die Lieferung von Rennwagen mit Chrysler-Motoren, die an den 24-Stunden von Le Mans teilnahmen.

  Copyright © 2004 - Alexander Kartschall